WIP Tuesday… almost

18Apr07

I took pictures for WIP Tuesday, and I was all reayd to post them… when my camera died. The bettery keeps going dead and I am not sure why. I didn’t forget, I tried… but it isn’t going to work.

So I will just tell you about what I am doing. The first weekend of May is the Blossom Festival, at which my mom and I are having a booth. My original plan was to make a whole bunch of purses, makeup bags, stenciled tote bags, etc. But with work, school, costumes for drama, and just life in general life got away from me. I will end up with about 20 bags to take. It’s not as much as I had hoped, but it will do. Anything that doesn’t sell will probably end up as birthday presents or blog giveaways.

Text only posts are lame, so tomorrow will have something much more exciting. I have the day off, so I’m crossing my fingers that my mom has time to take some pictures of what I have made lately. It didn’t seem like I had really made much in the past month, but I kind of sort of have. Kind of sort of is my new phrase to describe my life.

I’m still really unsure about things as far as clothing goes, but I’ve made a lot of decisions and stuff regarding my life. ‘Stuff’ is such a lame word to describe everything, but whatever. More on the ‘re-invention’ later. Maybe I’ll go on a tour and call myself, the artist formerly known as Emily. That would be cool.

Also, I’ve been drawing a lot more. I get frustrated sometimes becuase I have this weird need to create some gigantic work of art. As if every single thing I make has to be a huge, inspired endeavor. I put so much pressure on myself, I would stress out every single time I sat down to paint or make a collage. I’m slowly working my way out of old habits – as many as they are, I’m making relatively good progress. I have started sketching or painting a little each day. No, most of what I do is boring and even a little silly but I enjoy it. I would much rather enjoy what I am creating, then be stressed every time I paint.

Aren’t I weird? I have so many weird habits I got myself into, and now it is almost as if I have to re-learn things. Perhaps that is what life is. A constant re-learning, re-shaping, re-doing of everything. Constantly trying again and starting over…

Enough of that. I doubt most of you will actually read all of this, and if you don’t you won’t really be missing too much. Espect regular updates though! And the projects I am working on will hopefully be posted tomorrow or Thursday.

4 Responses to “WIP Tuesday… almost”

  1. 1 Celine

    I’m sure what you do is anything but boring or silly! I’d love to see it someday if you feel like sharing.

  2. 2 Ruby

    I did! I read the whole thing!
    Yeah, It’s hard when you make things bigger than they initially were. I try to enjoy the simple act of making something, without worrying about what it is until it’s nearing completion. But that is easier said than done.

  3. Why don’t you try to think more about the art itself rather than the finalised product?

  4. 4 89317

    Would it be ok if I cite a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to wordpress.
    com? My blog is on the exact same focus as your site and
    my readers would easily benefit from much of the info you offer here.

    Please let me know if this would be fine.
    Cheers


Leave a Reply

